Graduate Students: Awards and Fellowships

Newton E. Chute Award: This is an annual $350 prize awarded annually to the Department’s most outstanding graduate student on the basis of scholarship, service to the department and professional promise.
Marjorie Hooker Geology Award: This award includes a $350 annual prize for the year’s outstanding thesis proposal or dissertation proposal.
Vincent McKelvey Sholarship: This annual scholarship to graduate or undergraduate geology students is made available from the Vincent McKelvey Memorial Fund.
John J. Prucha Research Fund: This award shall be used each year to provide financial support for field research for undergraduate and/or graduate students in the Department of Geology.
K. Douglas Nelson Memorial Fund: This award, first presented in 2007, recognizes the outstanding graduate research in field-oriented tectonics and geophysics. The recipient has the privilege and responsibility of caring for Doug Nelson’s treasured coffee mug for the year. It includes an award of $350 from the K. Douglas Nelson Memorial Fund.
Chair’s Award: Established in 2005, this award is made to a graduate student in recognition of outstanding service to the Department.
Best Publication Award: Approximately $1000 annually is awarded to one or more students for the most outstanding publications on which the student appears as the first author.
Future Professoriate Award: Qualified graduate students are eligible to join an award-winning program ranked among the premier models for Teaching Assistant training in the United States.
Alec Waggoner Memorial Fund for Graduate Student Research.

External Fellowships and Funding Sources

Contact Us

Department of Earth Sciences
204 Heroy GL
Ph: 315-443-2672
Fx: 315-443-3363