Undergraduate Awards in Earth Sciences


 Support is available from endowed funds in the Department to help offset the cost of summer field courses and student research projects. Scholarship funds awarded on the basis of need are available for Earth Science majors through the Office of Financial Aid. In addition, the Department offers several honorary awards to students for academic achievement:


Chauncey Holmes Geology Prize: Established in 1961by Professor Holmes, this award recognizes outstanding students in introductory geology courses.
Estwing Award: A rock hammer, donated by the Estwing Corporation, is awarded annually to recognize the Department’s most outstanding undergraduate students.
Thomas Cramer Hopkins Scholarship: This is an annual scholarship to outstanding junior or senior earth sciences major from the Thomas Cramer Hopkins Memorial Fund.
Fay M. Merriam Award: The Daniel F. and Annie L. Merriam Scholarship fund provides this annual award to full-time matriculated undergraduate geology majors on the basis of academic achievement, extra-curricular contributions, and professional promise.

 Vincent E. McKelvey Sholarship:  This endowment fund provides financial assistance to an undergraduate or graduate student in Earth Sciences.